If you create an article on a version branch that is private, that article becomes unviewable on the public sight even if you are a privileged user.

Worst yet, if you publish that article you lose the ability to preview it. This means that you are unable to see what a published article on a private branch will look like without forking it.

Additionally all of the links in the portal and editor take you to 404s because they assume that the article is viewable, even though it is not.